It’s good to be home!

I got home very late last night after a few days in Scottsdale at a continuing education course.  It’s good to be home.  I woke up this morning looking forward to the Saints game, and thinking about what to make for dinner.

For inspiration, I turned to Thomas Keller’s Ad Hoc cookbook, and chose a menu of grilled lemon-herb quail, rainbow chard with golden raisins, pine nuts, and prosciutto, and blueberry cobbler.  As a complement, I decided to make a couple of loaves of rye bread from Ruhlman’s bread app.

I had the quail in the freezer from a trip to Broomsage Plantation last fall.  During dinner, I realized that my late friend Tom was with us on the trip.  I thawed the quail and marinated in a mixture of olive oil, lemon juice, herbs, scallions, bay leaves, garlic, salt and pepper.  I grilled the quail over medium heat and presented with lemon wedges after sprinkling with a little sea salt.

The chard recipe was good, with basic sauteed greens made more interesting with the addition of prosciutto, roasted pine nuts, and golden raisins.

Ruhlman’s bread app is amazing.  It takes the arcane witchcraft of bread-baking and simplifies it by including precise, scientific instructions.  Weighing the ingredients is key- the NY Times published an article on kitchen scales earlier this week.

The formed loaves, as they went into the oven.

The finished product.

Headed to the table.  The bread was good, rustic, toothsome, and tasty.  I used a blend of rye flour and bread flour.  It occurred to me that it would make a world-class reuben sandwich.  I’m ready to expand my horizons and include some additional ingredients and flavorings next time.

The cobbler was delicious and simple- fresh blueberries with a little lemon zest topped with a sweet biscuit topping.  We served it with a little vanilla ice cream.

It really is good to be home.

This entry was posted in Bread, Dessert, Football, Poultry, Vegetables. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

