Skillet Ribeyes

As usual, Friday night was busy. I ran into Winn-Dixie and picked up a couple of really nice ribeyes, along with some new potatoes and a couple of bags of spinach. I’m usually a NY strip guy, but the ribeyes looked too good to pass up.

Dinner had to be prepared quickly, so I started by bringing a large pot of salted water to a boil for the potatoes. Put more salt than you think you need- it should taste like seawater. As the water heated, I rinsed and dried the steaks, seasoned with kosher salt and fresh ground black pepper (hear Jim Gaffigan’s take on pepper) and allowed them to sit for a few minutes on the counter. I also preheated the oven to 400 degrees.

I then peeled a few garlic cloves for the spinach and chopped some fresh parsley for the potatoes. As the water came to a boil, I heated a large cast-iron skillet over high heat and added a couple of tablespoons of peanut oil (peanut oil is a very clean oil with a high smoke point. I love extra virgin olive oil, and use it almost exclusively, but in this application it would smoke too much.)

I put the steaks into the skillet and seared for 3-4 minutes per side, until well browned. NOTE- You need a good vent hood to do this! Once the steaks were browned, I put them into a 400 degree oven to finish. I then added about 1/4 cup olive oil to a large 14″ skillet (Lincoln Wear-Ever from Loubat’s in New Orleans- I love it!) and pressed the garlic cloves into the oil. I heated the oil & garlic over medium heat, and began adding the spinach a handful at a time, just as the garlic started to turn golden. Salt aggressively with kosher salt as you add the initial handfuls of spinach, and then taste for seasoning as the final handfuls wilt completely. Drain any excess liquid before presenting in a warm bowl.

As the spinach cooked, I removed the potatoes from the water and cut into quarters (careful, they will be hot!). I tossed them with a little black truffle oil that Jen gave me for Christmas, along with the chopped parsley, salt, and pepper.

I removed the steaks from the oven at about 120 degrees (get a Thermapen!), and allowed them to rest for a few minutes as I pulled the rest of the meal together.

Before serving, I sliced the larger of the ribeyes crosswise, and served it with the spinach and potatoes. It was a rich and satisfying meal, and it’s important to note that 4 of us (2 adults and 2 kids) had dinner from a single 18 oz steak with some leftover. It’s remarkable to see how you can reduce steak consumption and still feel satisfied by eating slices of beef, rather than chunks.

No pics from this meal. Sorry.

This entry was posted in Meat, Weeknight dinners. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

